The day the Baaubali 2 trailer was released, it was the hottest forward on all my Whatsapp groups. Goes to show how much expectations the movie has created. For me, Baahubali on the first viewing didn’t impress me at all. I was more concerned about the explicit violence depicted. Even when i watched Arundhati, it was the same feeling of queasiness that i got. I was hooked by the movie but repulsed by some of the dialogues and scenes.

But the second time around, I watched Baahubali, (must be like a year after), I ensured that i didn’t have any disturbances and fully focused on what the movie had to offer. This time around I paid a lot of attention to the detailing, the scenes. And I was so blown away.  I was blown away by Rana Daggubati, the song Dheerane (which was on loop for quite sometime after), and one scene with Ramya Krishnan, which literally shook my core. I am glad to see an Indian director, not just treating the ladies in the film as beautiful art pieces, but also as muses that inspires art. (more on that later)

Another fact that awed me was that I could just randomly pick out any shot in the movie and that would have been a wonderful poster. So i spent my third viewing, snapping pictures of the many scenes that I loved and wouldn’t mind having as posters.

Dheerene

For me in that song, the hero was not Prabhas or Tamannah, it was the amazing falls. And there are so many shots in the song, long shots, which shows the falls in all its mighty glory

vlcsnap-2017-02-19-22h26m45s800

Prabhas is ant-like compared to the endlessly towering falls

 

vlcsnap-2017-02-19-22h27m57s032

I love how the sunlight is tinging the water a golden hue, like molten liquid gold.

 

vlcsnap-2017-02-19-22h29m10s836

Rana Daggubati

Baradwaj Rangan of the Film Companion, had likened him as ‘Oak-Like” and i hooted with laughter reading that, because, i don’t think there can be any other better analogy for the impressive looking Rana, especially in his intro scene. It took me a lot of time to click these two images, because i realized that the particular segment gets over in a matter of seconds. Pity! I would have really loved to see this lunge completed in this same angle instead of cutting to a reaction shot.

vlcsnap-2017-02-19-22h25m03s816vlcsnap-2017-02-19-22h22m31s219

Prabhas

Talking about lunges, looks like not only has the director made the actors do a lot of lunges in the gym, but also on the sets. This movie has a lot of action spun around leaps and lunges. from the ground, from the fortress, from the cliff, through the fire…

vlcsnap-2017-02-19-22h30m15s567

I was told, that the above pic is a copy from an action scene involving Hawk Eye. But that does not take away the thrill of watching this leap

vlcsnap-2017-02-19-23h02m36s648vlcsnap-2017-02-19-23h06m17s657

Kattappa

Below are two amazing snaps of the two defining moments of the film and of course it involves Kattappavlcsnap-2017-02-19-23h09m19s720vlcsnap-2017-02-19-23h40m34s092

Looking at these two images side by side, I wonder, whether the elements of fire and rain is supposed to have a deeper meaning? Like when Kattappa had to kill Baahubali, his mind was literally on fire for having to do this betrayal and that when he finally found Sivadu, this fire that has been consuming him for years, has finally been doused? Or am i just overthinking this?

The Goddess

Mother Kali, the Goddess blessing the warriors looks impressive in this picture and it conforms to all usual notions of Amman,

vlcsnap-2017-02-19-23h26m29s548

But the director has also given another portrayal of Goddess. OK, she is not the Goddess here, but I was gobsmacked by the imagery and how much that single picture conveyed, All the feelings I felt when I saw the blood splattered Sivagami, calmly feeding the two possible successors to Mahismathi…. I mean, i don’t know whether there can be any other gesture that can show that both the boys are equal in all ways. And this image has become my new image of a Goddess… Always Goddesses are either depicted as a nurturing mother or a fiery warrior.I It is always either or. For the first time I am seeing an imagery that shows both – Being a warrior and a mother at the same time..

vlcsnap-2017-02-19-23h15m32s885

And for this one image,  only this image, I am now a big fan of S S Rajamouli.

