Toshiki Fukutsudzi. Past few weeks, I have been seeing this name on many FB shares. This doctor has developed an exercise which requires only 5 mins everyday, and if done regularly will help in reducing belly fat, improve posture and reduce back pain. Now, I am a perfect candidate for this… I always say that I don’t have time and I do suffer from all the above problems. Years and years of slouching over textbooks has given me a very bad posture, which in turn has resulted in fatty deposits around the belly and consequently back pain. So the video says, that doing this for 30 days will produce visible results. And Google search has not yielded any result on whether this exercise is effective. Funny part is, of the top 10 Google results for this, atleast 5 of them are copy-paste of each other without a change in even a single word (this includes a French article too) 🤔 The posts mention it takes just 5 minutes everyday, so i thought, why not give it a shot? Also I plan to document the results on this post, so that will give me an additional motivation to keep doing it.

Day 1 – I have measured the circumference around the navel. No, I am not going  to disclose the number, but is shall disclose the difference in number and in percentage at the end of the month. I generally don’t eat fast food, fried items, non veg or drink aerated drinks. So, I am not essentially making any significant changes in lifestyle while doing this. 

The exercise itself looks simple enough, but whoa, is it difficult! The body gets super stretched and towards night, the muscles in my arms started to ache. And it is not easy to keep the position for 5 mins, but not impossible too.

Day 2 – clocked 5 minutes. This time, I could feel the muscles  on my back complaining too. I have no idea whether there is any relation to this exercise, but I was feeling quiet tired today like as if I did too much physical work… even though I didn’t.

Day 7 -the muscle pains have reduced. I missed doing this only one day. So far no visible or measurable difference

Day 15 – I have been quite regular, probably I might have missed doing it only a day or two. The exercise has become easier to do. But the more you remain in that position, the more you feel the stretch. There has been no difference in the waist circumference, in fact, I have a slight doubt whether it has increased a bit. 😖 With regards to posture, I am being more aware of my stoop and am correcting it every now and then. There has been no miraculous cure of my back pain too. But point to be noted is that I am only having general discomfort in that area as opposed to full on pain in the back.

Day 30 – so the stipulated one month is over. Now the benefits touted by the web articles were three fold

  • Loose belly fat – which I didn’t
  • Correct posture – yes
  • Reduce back pain – yes

I remember my yoga lessons in college. It was a torture for me because, I couldn’t sit straight for more than 2 minutes, and if I did, the back pain would recur. But if I went back to my slouch, I was ok. Years of wrong posture mislaigns the spine and one gets comfortable in this misaligned posture. But the problems surface years later. When doing this exercise it stretches the back really well and probably it slowly smooths out the misalignment. Probably that s the reason for all the aches in the first week. So I see that now I am able to sit straight for longer periods of time – say 10 minutes, which was unthinkable a month ago, without back pain. So, I will give 2 out of 3 for this. Regarding reduction of belly fat, maybe if I continue doing the exercise, there will be a change for the better in the long run.

 So is this exercise beneficial? Definitely yes! But can this half miracle be converted to a complete one? Only time can tell!

Note: this article is based purely on my experience and should not be taken as a substitute for doctor’s advice​.

