I scoured through the pages of the “world-wide” web in search of a good valentine’s day quote for my DIY card. But after going through hundreds of images, I’ve still not found the right one. I mean all of them were about giving the heart, taking the heart, how you make me feel, flushed cheeks, rapid heartbeats etc etc. Like some college girl with rose tinted glasses.

It was nice being in college. Though I never enjoyed my college days, I realise now, how free I was. I am responsible only for me. Did I eat, did I study, did I keep myself safe. My concerns also could be counted on the fingers of one hand – studies, family, hmmmm… That’s it. 

When did life become this series of OMGs? OMG the shelves are dirty! OMG the bathroom tap has leaked again and now there is water all over! OMG I have to get ready for office! OMG my children are playing and a pillow is on top of one of their face! When one is running around dousing these metaphorical fires, where is the time to be doey eyed and melting hearts? 

After a point of time, once a person is “settled” and their overactive hormones have also settled,  love ceases to be just passion or romance and becomes…. more. Like, Love is giving respect to one another whether in public or private, whether in front of children, colleagues or alone. Love is not taking each other for granted. Love is taking the effort to switch off that gadget and just be there for the other. Love is remembering the preferences of the other at all times. Love is asking someone whether they are ok with a tricky situation and not just assume the other shall “adjust”. Love is giving small surprises, be it a stem of rose or just a samosa… (Not just bringing something for the children and buying one extra, but going out of the way to buy a gift). And then there is something else which makes love greater than the sum of all the above. The answer to what that something else is, is a human’s etenal journey.

